Chocolate Stout Cupcakes with Irish Cream Icing

Maybe a little late for St. Patrick’s Day, but I was bored Thursday night and decided to try these out. The cupcakes are made with Guinness and there was (obviously) Irish cream in the icing. These were extremely rich–I had trouble eating just one!

This recipe was very simple. It was a cake recipe that I just put in a cupcake pan. The first step is to melt THREE STICKS of butter in a saucepan with a bottle of Guinness, and then add the cocoa.

After letting that cool, I mixed it in with the other ingredients in my mom’s KitchenAid to create a deliciously thick batter. The recipe I used made 30 cupcakes.

These baked for about 25 minutes in a 350-degree oven. The Irish Cream icing was also very easy to make. It was just cream cheese, butter, Irish cream, and powdered sugar. Put it all together, annnd:

They were wonderful. You can definitely taste the Irish cream, so if you don’t like the stuff, stay away. However, I couldn’t taste the Guinness. My dad said he could. I guess it depends on who you are, but I will absolutely make these again someday.

This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

