Pastry Art?

On Wednesday, my mom and I visited Platt College in Tulsa, OK. They have a pastry arts program that I was interested in doing after I graduate from Oklahoma State. We got to tour the “classrooms” (kitchens) and hear about everything I’d learn how to do. The program looks wonderful, but my mom brought up a good point: I’ve already taught myself how to do so much, so is it really worth $18,500 and class every day for a year to learn how to do something I could try to figure out on my own?

The benefits of the program are obvious. Experts are there to guide you every step of the way. You have nearly unlimited resources (ingredients, utensils, mixers, oven space, etc.) at your fingertips. JOB PLACEMENT.

But it also costs. And the program would be tricky to work around. Also, I’m not in a great big hurry to learn EVERYTHING about baking within a year. I really enjoy reading on my own time about new things, and experimenting when I feel like it. I think I learn best that way, through trial and error. The process of cooking/baking is the fun part.

So for right now, I think I’m going to keep it as a hobby and see where it takes me. I’ll revisit taking the classes when I get closer to graduation at OSU, but I just want to have fun with it for now. Not stress myself out with more deadlines and grades. (How do you grade a cake anyway?)

This entry was posted in Cooking/Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

